About Dave

Picture of Dave, the author of this post
Dave Kiesel-Nield is a Code Corps VISTA serving in Portland, OR.

Hello, my name is Dave Kiesel-Nield. I am a native of Washington State and studied Geology at Central Washington University. I moved to Portland in 2011 and became involved with the Boys & Girls Club movement in 2012. I worked as a program staff, mostly delivering STEM programs to youth at several Clubhouses for a few years.

I am very excited to be a part of Code Corps because fighting poverty and helping kids learn about STEM subjects are two causes that are very close to my heart. I am looking forward to being able to help Boys & Girls Clubs of Portland develop its tech infrastructure and build a strong, sustainable tech program that will help youth, especially those who would otherwise have a much lower chance of doing so, succeed in STEM fields and especially technology.

Leave a Reply

